MDX Cheat Sheet

I’ve Googled for MDX Cheat Sheets, found a couple, but never exactly what I was looking for.
So I made my own, hope this one explains things a lot easier for you (and also as a reference for myself) 😉

Hierarchy:
For the demo, I’m using a Year(2014)/Month(201401) hierarchy in my SSAS cube which looks like:

Dim Period Hierarchy

Code:

MDX Cheat Sheet

Results:

MDX Cheat Sheet results

Here’s a more graphical explanation on how things work:
SSAS Dimension hierarchies levels

Download it!
SSAS MDX Cheat Sheet


Here’s another MDX Cheat Sheet I posted after, all about Calculated Measures:
https://clinthuijbers.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/mdx-cheat-sheet-calculated-measures/








One thought on “MDX Cheat Sheet

  1. Pingback: MDX Cheat Sheet – Calculated Measures | Clint Huijbers' Blog

Leave a Reply

