Playing around with SQL Azure

I’ve started playing with SQL Azure on my ’30 days free SQL Azure trial’ and already got a few tips:

Login on SQL Azure’s Developer Portal and create a database.

Don’t forget to modify your Firewall settings of SQL Azure in order to connect to it (Tutorial):
A simple statement does the trick (execute on Master DB):

exec sp_set_firewall_rule N'Allow Project Houston','0.0.0.0','0.0.0.0'

An overview of security in SQL Azure

Project ‘Houston’ is very handy! 🙂

I’ve uploaded AdventureWorksDW2008R2 partially (28,2 MB) with Create-scripts and a small SSIS package:

An overview of my tables within SQL Azure:

I can’t find any traffic stats though.

Next on my to-do-list:
Start using SQL Azure within a PowerPivot workbook (performance check).

I’ll keep you guys posted!





2 thoughts on “Playing around with SQL Azure

Leave a Reply

